My Visit to Cartel Coffee Lab in Tempe, AZ

So Saturday I had the chance to visit Cartel Coffee Lab. It’s been a while since I got the chance to get out to a new shop. Things have been very busy lately. Anyway, if you live in the Tempe area you should stop over there. Wait…if you live in the Tempe, Scottsdale area you should stop by. Wait, wait….if you live anywhere in the Phoenix metro area you need to get your butt over there! The place was very cool. They have a lot going on for a new shop. This place is also very unique in that they brew their coffee (they roast their own) on a Clover. I had a cup of the Huehuetenengo on it. It was very nice. The cup had some nice citrus notes and a medium body to it. Their espresso was very good as well. It had a nice brightness and acidity to it. The finish of it was good and it resonated nicely on the back of my pallet. To me it’s a great drinking espresso and I wouldn’t kill it by putting it in milk based drinks. Overall, I was very impressed with my visit. I wish them the best, and hope things go very well for them. Their level of enthusiasm and excellence in preparing, brewing, sourcing, and roasting coffee was refreshing. They won me as a customer!

Here’s a shot of their ‘spro set-up.

Here’s a shot of their roaster (San Franciscan).

~ by The Espresso Lounge on May 26, 2008.

One Response to “My Visit to Cartel Coffee Lab in Tempe, AZ”

  1. […] The Espresso Lounge recently made a trip to Cartel Coffee Lab as well and posted a few photos. In 2006, he and his wife, Amy, decided to seriously pursue their dream of opening a coffee shop. On a trip to Guatemala in 2007, Silberschlag said he “fell in love with coffee on a whole new level.” […]

Leave a Reply

 
