Cupping at Lost Dutchman Roasters

Many thanks go out to Victor from Lost Dutchman Coffee Roasters for inviting me to come out and cup with him.   There was about four of us cupping in total.  We got the chance to cup Sumatra Blue Batak, Blue Batak Peaberry, and some Lake Tawar.  Out of all the Sumatrans, I liked the Lake Tawar the best.  It was a very clean cup with just the right amount of body.  It wasn’t as aromatic as the Batak Peaberry, but it still topped my list.  We used the SCAA cupping forms for this session.  It was my first time using them.  NeedIess to say, I didn’t like them.  They were a lot different then what I was used too. I have a feeling next time I use them it’ll be better.  I usually cup with the form available at http://www.roastmagazine.com

Below are a few more pics from the festivities today.  Adios!

~ by The Espresso Lounge on April 6, 2008.

3 Responses to “Cupping at Lost Dutchman Roasters”

  1. Hey Steve! It was great to have some of you guys over. It’s not often we get 4 really nice Sumatran coffees together under the same roof. I agree that those cupping forms are a little cludgy, but they get the job done from a quality perspective and not really a descriptive one. Maybe next time we’ll use the Roast magazine ones you’re familiar with (but I insist we play the same Euro-Techo tunes in the background during the cupping sesh).

  2. Ah yes….the Euro-Techno…..I’m in!

  3. Hey Steve, I worked with you a few times when you were supplying a coffee shop in Mesa called Rejuvenate that was connected to Latitude Church. Unfortunately that didn’t really work out, but I was wondering if I could pick your brain about a couple things? When you get a spare minute could you shoot me a email at melanielittle1@gmail.com since since the comment section of your blog is probably not the best place for a conversation. 🙂 Hope to hear from you. Thanks!

Leave a comment